Unrecognized Countries


Unrecognized countries are territories that have achieved de facto independence, yet have failed to gain international recognition as independent states.  


A number of entities have declared independence and sought diplomatic recognition from the international community as de jure sovereign states, but have not been universally recognized as such. 


Many of these territories are 'frozen conflicts' and have been left in an 'unrecognized state' as a result.


These entities often have de facto control of their territory, a government, a military and a legal system. A number of such entities exist today and operate as functioning states. 

Examples of Unrecognized Countries are Abkhazia, South Ossetia, Artsakh (Nagorno-Karabakh), Transnistria and Somaliland.

"Travel to Places That Don't Exist"



Transnistria - a narrow strip of land between the Dniester river and the Ukrainian border - broke away from Moldova after a brief war in 1992. It is what is known as a post-Soviet "frozen conflicts" and is a perfect destination for any Soviet enthusiast.



Abkhazia was once known as a prime holiday destination for the Soviet elite, including Stalin himself. Russian recognition in 2008 has secured the nations de-facto independence and is one of the post-Soviet "frozen conflict zones."



A breakaway, semi-desert territory making up the northern part of internationally recognized Somalia. Somaliland declared independence after the overthrow of Somali military dictator Siad Barre in 1991.

South Ossetia


South Ossetia, internationally recognized as part of Georgia, gained de-facto independence in 2008 during its war against Georgia and is a post-Soviet "frozen conflict." Possibly the least visited out of all of the unrecognized countries in the region, it definitely makes for a unique destination.